Your question here:
Knowledgebase provides information, articles or answers to frequently asked questions.
Articles
I am not sure to which class you are referring.  Minors can not attend our CCW classes, but there is nothing prohibiting them from attending our other handgun classes as long as we feel they are saf ...
If you have a CA Permit or if you have taken one of our other handgun courses, we just need to schedule you an appointment to come by the office to fill out some paperwork and to be fingerprinted.
Yes, California does have certain stipulations that other states don’t have, but it is 100% legal for you to purchase, complete, and own an 80% firearm in the State of California. (as of December 1, ...
In July 2016, California passed AB 857. This legislation requires all completed firearms to have a serial number applied by Jan 1, 2019. An 80% lower receiver is not a firearm, so a serial number is o ...
There is not a training course for the FSC. The state of California does put out a study guide. You can read more about that using this link California FSC Study Guide. To obtain an FSC you must scor ...
30 questions. 10 True/False and 20 multiple choice.
Pursuant to California Penal Code section 25610, a United States citizen over 18 years of age who is not prohibited from firearm possession, and who resides or is temporarily in California, may transp ...
The fee for taking the FSC Test and obtaining an FSC is twenty-five dollars ($25). The $25 fee entitles you to take the test twice (from the same DOJ Certified Instructor) if necessary.
California prohibits carrying a loaded firearm in a vehicle. It is also unlawful for a driver or owner of a motor vehicle to knowingly permit another person to carry into or bring into the vehicle a f ...
There are no restrictions on the quantity (how much) ammunition you can buy or own. And it does not have to match the caliber of any gun you have registered)
Off-roster refers to firearms that do not appear on California's safe handgun roster of approved handguns for sale to the general public. California law does allows police officers to purchase these o ...
Well, California has some messed up laws but let start here. The laws governing control of deadly weapons, including firearms, are found in Part 6 of the Penal Code, beginning at section 16000. These ...
Pursuant to California Penal Code section 30105, an individual may request that the Department of Justice perform a firearms eligibility check on that individual. Authorized state records shall be exa ...
The results will be sent via U.S. Mail. The Department of Justice makes every effort to process requests for PFECs within 60 days of receipt.
You can use this link to check your live scan status for long as you have your ATI number, Last name and birthdate. Live Scan Status Check
Any person who has been convicted of a felony, certain misdemeanors, certain firearms offenses, who is addicted to narcotics, who is the subject of a domestic violence restraining order, or has been c ...
No. The Firearms Eligibility Notice will indicate you are either: 1) eligible to both possess and purchase firearms as of the date the check was conducted; 2) ineligible to either possess or purchase ...
There is no limit to the number of handguns that you may own but you are generally limited to purchasing no more than one handgun in any 30-day period. Handgun transactions related to law enforcement, ...
Generally, it is illegal to buy, manufacture, import, keep for sale, expose for sale, give or lend any large-capacity magazine (able to accept more than 10 rounds) in California. However, continued po ...
No. CCW licenses/permits issued in other states are not valid in California. (Pen. Code, §§ 25400-25700.)
The total state fee is $37.19. The DROS fee is $31.19 which covers the costs of the background checks and transfer registry. There is also a $1.00 Firearms Safety Act Fee, and a $5.00 Safety and Enfor ...
If your DROS application is denied, you will receive a letter from the DOJ Bureau of Firearms within two weeks. The letter will explain the reason and instructions on how to get a copy of the record t ...
Yes. If you have a conviction for a firearms-prohibiting offense, such as felony drunk driving, your driving record would affect your ability to purchase a firearm. Furthermore, your driver's license ...
Yes. If you do not take physical possession of the firearm within 30 days of submission of the DROS information, the dealer must cancel the sale. If you still want to take possession of the firearm, y ...
Yes, but they don’t apply to the general public. For example, waiting period exemptions include the following: Firearms dealers and persons who have obtained special weapons permits issued by the D ...
To obtain an FSC you must score at least 75% (23 correct answers out of 30 questions) on the FSC Test covering firearm safety and basic firearms laws. The true/false and multiple choice test is admini ...
Yes. To obtain a list of firearms listed in your name, complete and submit an Automated Firearms System Records Request form. The request must be signed, notarized, and include a photocopy of your pho ...