Dobbs Firearm Training - Help Desk » Knowledgebase » I'm not sure whether I have a California record that would prevent me from owning/possessing a firea
Your question here:


I'm not sure whether I have a California record that would prevent me from owning/possessing a firea
Article content

Pursuant to California Penal Code section 30105, an individual may request that the Department of Justice perform a firearms eligibility check on that individual. Authorized state records shall be examined to determine if the individual is prohibited by state or federal law from possessing, receiving, owning, or purchasing a firearm.

Please be advised that a PFEC does not include a Federal NICS check. Therefore, you may still be prohibited from owning or possessing a firearm even though you receive a PFEC response indicating you are eligible to own or possess firearms.

The state fee for the PFEC is $20, payable to the Department of Justice by check or money order. Dobbs Firearm Training does offer this service either by notary service of live scan with a total cost of $40.



Rate this article:   Good / Bad
Article details
Category
Knowledgebase
Date Added
2021-03-09 11:55:57
Views
627
Rating