This is a 4 hour class covering Utah CCW safe firearm handling and current Utah law pertaining to CCW holders.
Utah Residents and non-residents can all benefit from a Utah CCW permit.
Here is a list of states that currently honor Utah non-resident CCW permits. (Nonresident 31 states, Resident 37 states as of July 2020)
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
And if you are a Utah resident you can add six more states to that list.
Price : $179.00
Includes : Fingerprinting, Passport Photo and submitting all required paperwork to Utah BCI. (including Utah Non-Resident $63.25 fee)
Check the current course listings to find when this course is being offered by clicking here
Who Is Eligible
*Minimum requirements for application for a concealed firearms permit in Utah are:
- Applicant must be at least 21 years of age (there is a Provisional Permit with a minimum age of 18)
- Proof of good character...whereas the applicant;
- has not been convicted of a felony;
- has not been convicted of any crime of violence;
- has not been convicted of any offense involving the use of alcohol;
- has not been convicted of any offenses involving the unlawful use of narcotics or other controlled substances;
- has not been convicted of any offenses involving moral turpitude;
- has not been convicted of any offense involving domestic violence;
- has not been adjudicated by a court of a state or of the United States as mentally incompetent, unless the adjudication has been withdrawn or reversed
*A criminal background check is conducted for all applicants.
What Must Accompany the Application?
- A Photocopy of your state issued Driver License (Dobbs Firearm Training will photocopy your DL during the training course)
- Photograph. One recent color photograph of passport quality. (We will also take a passport photo for you during the training course)
- Non-resident proof of permit. (Doesn't apply to California Residents) If you reside in a state that recognizes the validity of the Utah CFP or has reciprocity with Utah, you must obtain a CFP or CCW from your home state and submit a copy of it with your application for a Utah permit. You are considered a resident of whichever state issued your ID. If your state does not recognize the Utah permit this does not apply.
- Fingerprint Card. One fingerprint card. Must be filled out completely.
*Dobbs Firearm Training has trained and certified Live Scan Operators and will take your fingerprints during the training course.
- Weapon Familiarity Certification. Applicants must complete a firearms familiarity course certified by BCI. No exceptions. (This is the course you are viewing currently.
Born Outside the US
If you were born outside of the U.S. you must include your Alien Registration Number or INS Registration Number on your application and fingerprint card, or include a copy of your U.S. issued born abroad birth certificate. A copy of a valid U.S passport will also be accepted for proof of citizenship if born outside the US.
Provisional Firearm Permit Frequently Asked Questions
What is the Utah Provisional Concealed Firearm Permit?
The Utah Provisional Concealed Firearm Permit (PCFP) is a concealed firearm permit that allows a person who is 18-20 years old to carry a concealed firearm.
What are the requirements for obtaining a Utah Provisional CFP?
The requirements for the Provisional CFP are the same as the standard CFP.
What are the differences between the Provisional CFP and the standard CFP?
The Provisional CFP expires on the holder’s 21st birthday. The Provisional CFP does not allow the holder to carry in primary and secondary schools (UCA 53-5-710(2). Please check your state or states you are planning to visit to see applicable local laws. It is the responsibility of the permit holder to know and understand the applicable laws for their home state and any state they plan to visit.
Can a Provisional CFP holder use their permit to purchase a handgun? (for Utah Residents)
No. Per 18 USC 922(b)(1) a person under 21 may not purchase a handgun from a federal firearm licensee.
How do I change over to a standard permit when I’m 21?
A complete application, including fingerprints, photo, and fees must be submitted for a standard permit. The only exception is the training requirement which may be satisfied by including a copy of your provisional permit. The bureau cannot not accept an application more than 60 days prior to the expiration date of the provisional permit.
Can I take the concealed permit class and apply for the Provisional CFP before my 18th birthday?
You may take the class as long as you submit your application within one year of taking the class. Applications are not accepted before your 18th birthday.
Which other states recognize the Utah Provisional CFP?
DPS/BCI is currently in process of verifying the recognition status with other states. Recognition information can be found here and will be updated as it becomes available. As with all other laws, it is the responsibility of the individual to understand and comply with all applicable laws of the jurisdiction in question.
Utah CFP Frequently Asked Questions
How long is a Utah CFP valid?
Five (5) years.
What is the cost to renew a Utah CFP?
Current charge for a renewal is $15.00 and it can be done online.
How long does the process take after filing the application?
There is a time limit of 60 days to either issue or deny on cause.
Does Utah list the firearms you are allowed to carry on the permit like California?
No, your Utah permit allows you to carry concealed any firearm you can legally possess and conceal.
If I get stopped by a police officer, do I, as a permit holder, have to tell the officer that I have a gun in my possession?
Although there is no legal requirement to identify yourself to a law enforcement officer, it is recommended to do so.
If an officer finds or sees a gun on your person during their contact with you, and you have not identified yourself as a permit holder in legal possession of a firearm, the officer may assume you are carrying the gun illegally and may take defensive action. For the safety of all involved, it is recommended to immediately identify yourself to the officer as a permit holder in possession of a handgun. This action gives the officer some assurance they are most likely dealing with a law abiding citizen.
Is there any way that I can check to see if my criminal history will prevent me from obtaining a concealed firearm permit BEFORE I go through the whole process of applying?
Yes. You can come into our office or call by phone and ask to speak with one of the investigators. If you explain to the investigator what type of problem you have had, he can give you a good idea whether you qualify for a concealed firearm permit or not.
Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification
3888 West 5400 South
Taylorsville, Utah 84129
(801) 965-4445, option “3”
As a permit holder, exactly, where can I carry or not carry a handgun?
The concealed firearm permit allows an individual to carry a firearm fully loaded and concealed. The permit also allows an individual to carry a firearm into public schools. Permit holders can not carry a firearm into federal or state restricted areas i.e. any airport secured area, federal facilities, courts, correctional & mental health facilities, law enforcement secured areas, a house of worship or private residence where notice given and/or posted, any secured area in which firearms are prohibited and notice posted, or otherwise prohibited by state of federal law.
What about private businesses? Can they post signs prohibiting someone from carrying a gun into their business even though the person has a concealed firearms permit?
Naturally, private property owners may apply whatever restrictions they want. Whether or not these restrictions violate one’s constitutional rights is for the civil courts to decide. But the only statutory restrictions on a permit holder are secured areas such as airports and federal buildings.
May I carry my loaded and concealed firearm into a bar or other drinking establishment?
There is nothing in state statute that prohibits permit holders from being in a bar with a concealed firearm. However, it is illegal to be intoxicated and in possession of a firearm. The level of intoxication that is considered illegal is the same standard as when driving a car. (.08 B.A.C.)
If I feel someone MAY be a threat to me, can I show them that I have a gun to scare them off?
Any action you take with a gun must be in direct self-defense; otherwise, it may be considered threatening with a dangerous weapon and you could be labeled as the aggressor. You may be criminally charged and you will possibly have your permit to carry a concealed firearm revoked. Carrying a firearm is very serious business. There is no room for mistakes. If you pull a firearm on someone or even display the weapon, then it must be in self defense or it is not justified.
Do I have to be a Utah resident to obtain a concealed firearm permit?
No. Any U.S. citizen or legal resident (with the intent to reside in the United States) may obtain a Utah concealed firearm permit, providing they meet the minimum qualifications. View the minimum qualifications.